The Struggle is Real

Like any struggling artist, I yearn for my work to be recognized. However, the road is a long one and during that time there will be some hardships.

I recently made the decision to no longer pursue psychology and instead focus more on theater and creative writing. It was a hard decision to make because theater and english are not the easiest degrees to obtain jobs with; however, I know that I would rather focus my attention on something that I love to do, rather than force myself to study something that is only interesting to me. Psychology will always be something that I love, but having a career in it is no longer something I want.

Changing my mind about careers and majors hasn’t been my only struggle. Finding a job, writing short stories, homework, theater, finding time to sleep…. This semester has been rough but there are some upsides:

1) I am going to be studying abroad in London next fall!

2) I have a house to live in next year

3) I have wonderful friends and family who support me

All the pieces are in place for success, I just need to find a way to put them together.

One thought on “The Struggle is Real

  1. Your family will always love and support you.. never give up on your dreams.. be the person you want to be.. I am very proud of the woman you have become and I love you.. Grandma

    Like

Leave a Reply

